Magic Mushrooms

Posted: February 15, 2011 in Uncategorized

I used psilocybin mushrooms for the first time when I was an adolescent. I don’t know how many times I used mushrooms, probably due to a preference for LSD. The last dose of mushrooms I used were taken with a fellow biology student on a fascinating hike and we observed and categorized several species of insects. I consider this episode of my life to be one of the most positive and one of the reasons I fondly remember that I actually enjoy doing science, not just reading about it.

In my last trip, which was recent enough for me to remember, I felt a thrill at my rapidness of thought in the presence of nature, which I have always revered.

I consider mushrooms and other hallucinogenic drugs an important part of my work. My last dose of LSD was taken within the year. Though, for the last decade or so these experiences have been indulged sparingly.

I get, from hallucinogenic drugs, what religious people get from profound religious experiences. I know, because I have experienced both several times in my life.

For the skeptic this can validate that “spiritual” experiences have neurochemical naturalistic causes. Though, certainly, this is no hinderance to enjoying these experiences.

I prefer to see the utility of these kinds of experiences. That they truly enrich life, as the study below shows.

I believe that with much occult experimentation, such as ritual magic(k), these kinds of “spiritual” experiences are channeled by the practitioner empirically. Let me be at least one case where the very theater and performance art of the task provides the same thing.

At present I don’t believe in any supernatural cause for the efficacy of ritual magi(k) or mushrooms and other hallucinogens, or “spiritual” experiences of many kinds. But just as the report I am posting with this shows, that these experiences enrich life. They increase well being.

Like it or not we are stuck with life, we might as well live it well.

Comments
  1. Tlakatekatl says:

    It’s good to see we share similar background on our road to skepticism.

    Although, I never found the courage to immerse myself in the “brujo” culture, partly due to my skepticism, I have to admit that my most profound “spiritual” experiences have been under the influence of hallucinogenic substances.

    My first experience was in my army days. A group of us would drive down from Georgia to Florida and pick up sheets of acid that we would later distribute in the barracks. This was all new to me, but before long, I became well acquainted with the world of ‘trippin”. Without getting to detailed, let’s just say that this experience introduced me to new ways of perceiving the world and how I relate to it. Although I took it mostly for fun and games, it opened the door for what lay ahead years later.

    After my military stint, I began to seriously inquire about my indigenous American roots, which led me to meet some folx that were willing to guide me in my quest. Before long,
    I found my self in the desert of central Mexico and engaging in a spiritual ceremony with the Wirarika (Huichol) in their “garden of eden,” Wirikuta. This place is truly magickal, where the sacred Hikuri (peyotl) lives in abundance. Being in that place, participating in the ceremony, chanting all night in the open air circle around the sacred fire amidst the dark cold desert night changed my life.

    Things became more clear to me, my senses were enhanced, and my consciousness became in tune with my surroundings. The Milky Way sky lowered itself to me in a very real way, as if I were in a holographic space that allowed me to map out the universe in a three dimensional grid. I could move this grid like if I were using a touch screen computer and bring things into focus or map out points in Algebraic form.

    This when I the belief that math governs our universal existence manifested itself in a concrete fashion and not just simply as a scientific law that describes why flowers have a certain number of petals or why snowflakes take the shape they do. This was personal and real, and every experience I have had since then with this “medicine” has been different. I think the experience individuals have with hallucinogenic substances is dictated by the state of that person’s mind at that given moment in space/time.

    Considering that I have been a skeptic since my early teens, and that I now have leaned more towards atheism in recent years, my “spiritual” experiences have more or less proven to me that the power of our minds is truly a mystery at this point. More importantly, it has taught me that where science is our modern attempt at rationally explaining our existence, it by no means has all the answers. Anyone that argues otherwise is either a fool, ignorant, or an outright liar.

  2. mindcore says:

    I need to do more of this stuff.

  3. masque1223 says:

    Today, a young man on acid realized that all matter is merely energy condensed to a slow vibration – that we are all one consciousness experiencing itself subjectively. There’s no such thing as death, life is only a dream, and we’re the imagination of ourselves. Here’s Tom with the weather. – Bill Hicks

Leave a Reply

