Hello world!

Posted: December 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

WordPress gave me that title. How nice.

I should introduce myself briefly. I am an internet geek, an old school diy punk rocker, a young professional, a BS in neuroscience from a reputable University.

I am a committed skeptic. I hold a naturalist philosophical outlook, I do not believe in the supernatural.

I try to take a rationalist approach to everything I do. I believe the scientific method, when adhered to properly, provides the most accurate model of reality.

I am an atheist, which is implied in all the above propositions.

But I am also an art-geek. I love surrealism, Alex Grey, psychadelia, underground comics (which is my preferred medium). I listen to goth music and industrial and metal, all genres which have taken a lot from occult roots. I played D&D and other role playing games growing up which gave me a fascination with these powerful memes.

The most decisive book I read on the issue was Life Forces by Louis Stewart. This book changed my life, it convinced me I was a New Age wizard for my whole teens and continued to make me lean New Age through a brief Christian phase, and to maintain an interest in the Occult into my current atheist incarnation.

I may seem like a spiritual tourist, and indeed I am. But my atheism was born of my degree, I pursued a psychology degree at first and worked for a great experimental psychologist who led me to develop an interest in a biological approach. As I learned typical basic biology and understood the fundamentals of experimental design across two disciplines and saw that science is a great knife for cutting out nonsense.

I have considered my days as an atheist to be a lightened burden in retrospect and have now been an atheist a chill rationalist for about 6 years.

I have returned to my interest in the occult for its artistic potency. Occult thinking and symbolism make for beautiful art and allow for communication of sublime ideas in image. As a comic book artist who is actually trying to say something about the world, this is just too ripe to pass up.

I am also genuinely curious. I find Crowley’s idea of the true will to be relatively compatible with science if one merely sees it as a creative force rather than as a pre-existing thing. I also like Jung’s ideas of universal symbols. I like mindfulness meditation, which has been vindicated scientifically by Richie Davidson. From a neuroscientists point of view occultists might just be interesting because they are disproportionately meditators.

Atheist scholar Tom Flynn says that in the days of  Robert G. Ingersoll atheists considered New Agers part of the broader freethought movement.

I think atheists can come off as narrow minded assholes. I have probably been guilty of this myself. But it is not my intention.

My real desire is to understand and to have an open mind. An open mind with a great deal of critical analysis of everything that comes in. All ideas have problems.

I am writing this blog to reach out to the occult community in particular. Why? Because I like you guys. I think you are probably actually on to something,  my guess its that its psychological.

But I know that most occultists are comfortable discussing the psychological benefits because I have been listening to Thelema and Occult podcasts and have found a somewhat open minded crew.

I am hoping that from this dialogue we can perhaps see broader issues for alignment. Both atheists and occultists would be inclined to support the ACLU perhaps, and for similar values.

I am reaching out. I have no intention of being combative. But I do plan to defend my position, and invite those who disagree to do so with a fraternal act of free inquiry for both of us.

Please enjoy.

Sincerely

Enrique Recuero also called Dendron

Comments
  1. Keith Nielsen says:

    Aside from calling myself an agnostic rather than an atheist (I simply find it more precise) and not completely ruling out the possibility of the “weird”, I’m with you. I have been active in occultism for quite a while down here in Houston, and was a member of the Temple of Set for the last 8 or 9 years. I definitely think that occultism has a very useful psychological component, the potential for great aesthetic work, and possibly something else, but nothing that can be nailed down definitively what with confirmation bias, apophenia, and a wide variety of other perceptual handicaps we humans possess. I just found your blog, and now will be playing catchup with posts.

    • mindcore says:

      I think that I have come around more to your way of thinking since I started this project. I am very curious about the Temple of Set, I have a strong left hand side to my background and approach. Did it go badly with them?

Leave a Reply

